Leslie Schoop, Ph.D
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
CV
Upcoming Talks
Ph.D. in Chemistry, Princeton University
Diploma in Chemistry, Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz
Room: Frick 353
Phone: 609-258-9390
Email: lschoop@princeton.edu
Leslie received her training in Germany and the United States. She enjoyed the diversity of education philosophies. Thus, she is looking forward to working with students and postdocs from different backgrounds. When not conducting research, she likes to engage in outdoor activities and has fallen in love with the U.S. national parks.

Maura Matvey
Administrative Assistant
Room: Frick 121
Phone: 609-258-3651
Email: mmatvey@princeton.edu

 

Postdocs

Shiming Lei, Ph.D 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
shimingl@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Ph.D. Department of Materials Science and Enginerring, The Pennsylvania State University, 2017.
Shiming worked on domains/domain walls in complex polar oxides. Specifically, he was working on nano- to micro-scale domain/domain wall imaging, their tunability under applied external field and stress, and their correlated properties, such as magnetism, metal-to-insulator transition and symmetry.
Shiming’s current project is on synthesis and characterization of new magnetic topological materials.

 

Ratnadwip Singha, Ph.D 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
rsingha@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Ph.D. Condensed Matter Physics Division, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, 2019.
Fang Yuan, Ph.D 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
fy6@princeton.edu
Frick 354

 Jason Khoury, Ph.D
Postdoctoral Research Associate
jfkhoury@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.S. the Ohio State University, 2015
Ph.D. Northwestern University, 2020

 Milena Jovanovic
Postdoctoral Research Associate
milenaj@princeton.edu
Frick 354

Fourth Year Graduate Students

Robert Kirby 
Graduate Student
rjkirby@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.Sc. in Chemistry,  McGill University M.Sc. in Chemistry, the University of Toronto.
Robert is using ultrafast spectroscopy to study how optically-excited electrons behave around the Dirac point in topological semimetals on ultrashort timescales
Xiaoyu Song
Graduate Student
xiaoyus@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.Sc., Nanjing University, P.R. China.
Xiaoyu’s current research interest is magnetic 2D nanosheets.

Third Year Graduate Students

Tyger Salters
Graduate Student
tsalters@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.S. in Chemistry, Stony Brook University, 2018
Tyger’s current research focuses on the synthesis of new magnetic topological materials and their complex crystallography using synchrotron x-ray and neutron scattering techniques.

Second Year Graduate Students


Kehan Cai

Graduate Student
kehanc@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.Sc., Nanjing University, P.R. China.

 


Joseph Stiles

Graduate Student
jwstiles@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Southern California

 


Grace Villalpando

Graduate Student
gvv@Princeton.EDU
Frick 354
B.S. in Chemistry, Texas A&M University

 

First Year Graduate Students


Brianna Hoff

Graduate Student
bhoff@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.S. from the University of Massachusetts, Lowell

 


Mulan Yang

Graduate Student
mulany@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.S. in Chemistry at Northeastern University


Scott Lee

Graduate Student
scottbl@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.S. in Materials Science & Engineering and a double-major in Chemistry, University of Wisconsin – Madison

 

Senior Undergraduate Students

Sabrina Sequeira
Undergraduate Student
sgs4@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2021

Anna Soltys
Undergraduate Student
asoltys@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2021

Ethan Whittaker
Undergraduate Student
ew17@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2021

Visitors

   Andreas Topp
Visiting Student Research Collaborator
atopp@princeton.edu
Frick 354
M.Sc., Physics, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Andy is currently working on his Ph.D. with the title: “Probing the Electronic Structure of new 3D Dirac semimetals”, which he accomplishes by means of angle-resolved photo emission spectroscopy (ARPES)
 

Alumni

Sarah Schneider
Undergraduate Alumna
sarahns@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2020

Sebastian Klemenz, Ph.D 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
sklemenz@princeton.edu
Dr. rer. nat. at Eduard-Zintl-Institut for Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, Technische Universität Darmstadt in 2017.
Sebastian was part of the Darmstadt Graduate School of Excellence Energy Science and Engineering. He worked on nanoscale boride materials for a variety of applications. His focus was synthesis and structural characterization using diffraction techniques and electron microscopy. For his first postdoc, Sebastian went to Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids deepening his expertise in unusual synthesis techniques.
Sebastian’s research interest during his stay at the Schoop Lab was synthesis of new topological materials. His investigations aimed for a better understanding of the structure-property relationship in these materials.

Austin Ferrenti 
Undergraduate Alumnus, Researcher
ferrenti@princeton.edu
Princeton University
Chemistry Major, Class of 2019

Ashley Wilczek
Undergraduate Alumna
awilczek@princeton.edu
Princeton University
Chemistry Major, Class of 2019

Ananya Vinayak
Visiting Undergrad Student, Summer 2019
avinayak@princeton.edu
Princeton University, Class of 2022

Aurland Hay
Visiting Undergrad Student, Summer 2019
ahay@wellesley.edu
Wellesley College, Class of 2020

Audrey Saltzman
Visiting Undergrad Student, Summer 2019
audreysa@mit.edu
MIT, Class of 2021

Kirstine Dalgaard
Visiting Student Research Collaborator
kjd@inano.au.dk
M.Sc., Nanoscience, Aarhus University, Denmark

Mohamed Oudah
Visiting Postdoc Collaborator
mohamed.oudah@ubc.ca
Ph.D., Physics, Kyoto University, Japan
Mohamed discovered superconductivity in the hole-doped Antiperovskite Oxide Sr3-xSnO and studied the negative ionic state of Sn in this unusual oxide. The early part of his postdoc was focused on high-pressure synthesis of new topological phases. The focus has now shifted to identifying new topological materials within the square-net family of compounds. 

Caroline Weinberg
Visiting Undergraduate Student, Summer 2018
cfw1@williams.edu
Williams College
Chemistry Major/Environmental Studies Minor, Class of 2019