Leslie Schoop, Ph.D
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
CV
Upcoming Talks
Ph.D. in Chemistry, Princeton University
Diploma in Chemistry, Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz
Room: Frick 353
Phone: 609-258-9390
Email: lschoop@princeton.edu
Leslie received her training in Germany and the United States. She enjoyed the diversity of education philosophies. Thus, she is looking forward to working with students and postdocs from different backgrounds. When not conducting research, she likes to engage in outdoor activities and has fallen in love with the U.S. national parks.
Heather Krupinski
Faculty Assistant
Room: Frick 128
Phone: 609-258-2674
Email: hmk2@princeton.edu
 

Postdocs

Shiming Lei, Ph.D 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
shimingl@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Ph.D. Department of Materials Science and Enginerring, The Pennsylvania State University, 2017.
Shiming worked on domains/domain walls in complex polar oxides. Specifically, he was working on nano- to micro-scale domain/domain wall imaging, their tunability under applied external field and stress, and their correlated properties, such as magnetism, metal-to-insulator transition and symmetry.
Shiming’s current project is on synthesis and characterization of new magnetic topological materials.
Sebastian Klemenz, Ph.D 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
sklemenz@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Dr. rer. nat. at Eduard-Zintl-Institut for Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, Technische Universität Darmstadt in 2017.
Sebastian was part of the Darmstadt Graduate School of Excellence Energy Science and Engineering. He worked on nanoscale boride materials for a variety of applications. His focus was synthesis and structural characterization using diffraction techniques and electron microscopy. For his first postdoc, Sebastian went to Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids deepening his expertise in unusual synthesis techniques.
Sebastian’s current research interest is synthesis of new topological materials. His investigations aim for a better understanding of the structure-property relationship in these materials.

Second Year Graduate Students

Robert Kirby 
Graduate Student
rjkirby@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.Sc. in Chemistry,  McGill University M.Sc. in Chemistry, the University of Toronto.
Robert is using ultrafast spectroscopy to study how optically-excited electrons behave around the Dirac point in topological semimetals on ultrashort timescales
Xiaoyu Song
Graduate Student
xiaoyus@princeton.edu
Frick 354
B.Sc., Nanjing University, P.R. China.
Xiaoyu’s current research interest is magnetic 2D nanosheets.

First Year Graduate Students

Tyger Salters
Graduate Student
tsalters@princeton.edu
Frick 354

Senior Undergraduate Students

Austin Ferrenti 
Undergraduate Student
ferrenti@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2019

Ashley Wilczek
Undergraduate Student
awilczek@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2019

Junior Undergraduate Students

Sarah Schneider
Undergraduate Student
sarahns@princeton.edu
Frick 354
Chemistry Major, Class of 2020
Sarah will be working under Xiaoyu Song on synthesizing various 2D magnetic nanosheets.

Visitors

   Andreas Topp
Visiting Student Research Collaborator
atopp@princeton.edu
Frick 354
M.Sc., Physics, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Andy is currently working on his Ph.D. with the title: “Probing the Electronic Structure of new 3D Dirac semimetals”, which he accomplishes by means of angle-resolved photo emission spectroscopy (ARPES)

Kirstine Dalgaard
Visiting Student Research Collaborator
dalgaard@princeton.edu
Frick 354
M.Sc., Nanoscience, Aarhus University, Denmark

 

Alumni

Caroline Weinberg
cfw1@williams.edu
Visiting Undergraduate Student
Williams College
Chemistry Major/Environmental Studies Minor, Class of 2019